Miley Cyrus Launches Happy Hippie Foundation

Miley Cyrus, the 22 year old singer of “We Can’t Stop”, has recently launched a new organization that will strive to fight youth homelessness and promote pro-LGBT causes. The organization is titled the Happy Hippie Foundation.

Cyrus recognized the overwhelming issue of homelessness that has been facing the youth community, particularly LGBT youths.

“I’m the one that can fix it,” Cyrus told Good Morning America of the crises facing young homeless people. “I feel like I’m completely not tied to a gender or to an age. I feel like an infinite cosmic thing, and that’s what I want people to feel… Forty percent of homelessness is really focused on the LGBT community, because, I think, of the lack of acceptance.”

Cyrus has teamed up with fellow musicians, such as Ariana Grande and Joan Jett, to promote the foundation on Facebook via music videos.

In combining her musical talent with her desire to spread awareness, Cyrus recently released a backyard music video session in which she performs the song “Androgynous” with rock legend Joan Jett.

“I’m fighting for people I don’t know,” said Cyrus. “But it’s also a fight for people I do know, and people I’m close to and love.”

Each video posted offers a “donate” button, which users can click to contribute to funds raised to create digital support groups for LGBT and homeless youths.

You can click here to donate: http://happyhippies.org/#donate

Leave a Reply

